Wednesday, April 12, 2017

The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander

The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander is the first of a five book series. When this book started, I struggled with it a bit, but Alexander brings in humor and a strong girl character that saves this story.

Published in 1964, this story is set in a fictional Welsh kingdom. Taran, the main character must rescue a pig and warn a kingdom of the Horned King.

In his travels, he learns how to be a good friend and to appreciate the simple things in life. Eilonwy is my favorite character in this story. She is a girl he meets when he has been imprisoned in a dungeon. She is feisty and smart. She doesn't take any garbage from anyone, but she is a person one can count on.

I enjoyed the themes of kindness and friendship that ran through this book - the importance of not judging someone without first knowing and understanding them.

The Black Cauldron is the second book in the series, and this is the book that Disney based their movie on. 

In this installment, the companions head out on another adventure to find the Black Cauldron - the source of all the Cauldron born. The characters are further developed and we get a sense of who Taran will become as an adult. 

The Castle of Llyr is the third book, and so far I think it is my favorite. It would make a really good movie if it done properly. The relationships of the companions strengthen and we learn more about Eilonwy's background and her projected future. 

Angie, I think Isaac will enjoy this series. There are still two books in the series that I haven't yet read, but I will. 

Read to a child today even if that child is you. 

Link to our NICU book registry if you'd like to donate books to babies.

No comments:

Post a Comment